So, after making Pinkie Pie yesterday, I wrote down the plans for the six other cupcakes I’ll be making and set about decided who was next. In the end, my mother had to run some crazy errands and was kind enough to add an extra stop to get cupcake supplies, so she decided.

Fluttershy!

She picked Fluttershy.

Sadly, she based her choice on recipe, not pony. She only knows the ponies in passing.

This is, I think, my favorite as far as fit. Here’s the description for you:

Lemon chiffon cake with pink cherry meringue frosting piped in layers with a butterfly

These cupcakes are as light and airy as the clouds the pegasi recline on, but with a hidden flavor as quietly bold as the pony that inspired them. Butterflies land on pastel pink and yellow cupcakes, and each bite reveals a blend of lemon with a hint of cherry that melts away in your mouth.

Fun fact: Despite a desire to, I had never made, or even really tried, chiffon cake before this. Turns out it’s pretty much a cake made of meringue. That I planned to cover in meringue. I only discovered this today when I opened the recipe book to start. I had already planned on meringue frosting. I’m actually sort of obsessed with meringue.

This was fate.

This recipe was much easier than Pinkie Pie. The chiffon recipe is from an old cookbook my mom has had forever (they still print it, it’s by Better Homes and Gardens and huge and delicious). I used an orange chiffon cake recipe, and the only change I made was lemon for orange (and a bit more lemon zest and juice to really make it pop). Also, finding a proper cook time was difficult. The meringue recipe is cause I make meringue too much, and it was one I remembered and altered for this purpose.

If you make this, you have two choices. One: make a few cupcakes. The recipe below will make between 14 and 16 cupcakes (hard to say exactly, I used mini cupcakes when my main pan filled up). If you want more, you can double it, but then you’ll have a ton of cupcakes. Your choice.

Recipe time!

Cupcake:

4 egg yolks

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon zested lemon peel

1/3 cup lemon juice (fresh if possible)

½ cup flour

4 egg whites

½ teaspoon cream of tartar

Dash of salt

1/3 cup sugar

Beat yolks. Gradually add 1/3 cup sugar and beat till thick. Mix lemon zest and juice and add to yolk mixture in installments, alternating with flour.

Beat egg whites with cream of tartar and salt until soft peaks form. Very gradually add 1/3 cup sugar. Seriously gradually, this should take at least 1.5 or 2 minutes. Beat till stiff peaks form. Gently fold into the yolk mixture until fully integrated. Spoon into paper-lined cupcake pan, heaping the middle. Bake mini cupcakes for 12-15 minutes, large cupcakes for 22-25 minutes, until browned around edges and toasty colored on tops.

Cupcakes!

See the brown side? That's what I get for not rotating my pan. And also overcooking.

Yellow food color can be added, but the cakes become a pastel yellow on their own.

Done!

This is what it should look like if you don't use dye and bake it correctly. White is for comparison.

Frosting:

4 egg whites

½ teaspoon cream of tartar

½ cup sugar

¼ teaspoon cherry flavor

Liquid red food dye (gel may work, but it will be more difficult to integrate)

Beat egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar. It should take 2-4 minutes. Add flavor and 2 or 3 drops of red food dye. Scrape down sides and resume beating until stiff peaks form and the whites appear to be glossy.

Delicious!

A perfect Fluttershy yellow on the inside, no dye needed.

Assembly:

When the cakes are completely cooled, use a medium to large round pipette tip to pipe pink cherry meringue on in a very smooth coat, spiraling from inside to edges. If the centers have sunk, make sure to level it out with meringue before continuing (I pipe a large chunk and then spiral from there when it’s at the height I want). Don’t be stingy! The recipe makes more than enough meringue for all the cupcakes. When all cupcakes have a smooth layer, broil on High just until the meringue begins to brown and remove immediately. Use a small round tip to pipe a butterfly of meringue on each cupcake. Broil once more, but several inches down from broiler. Remove as soon as the butterflies begin to brown.

Butterfly

Broiling it in two steps makes it stand out more.

The biggest problem is that the browner and toastier the meringue is, the better it tastes. However, the browner and toastier it is, the less Fluttershy-pink it is.

Enjoy pony two, and I hope you’re in the mood for more cupcakes.

Lots more cupcakes.

Right after I’d decided to start exercising again.

I’d be sad if they weren’t so tasty.

