Today, we finish the mane cast and my second-to-last cupcake!

Crap!

Rainbow Dash, second to last? I just saved the best for last, Dash!

After half-finishing this, I learned that today’s new episode was Rainbow Dash’s. FATE!

Rainbow!

Color me happy! ~is shot~

Dark chocolate chili cupcake with rainbow-striped cream cheese frosting

A bold flavor for the most bold of ponies, this cupcake takes beloved chocolate for a very first prize run that’s sure to win the loyalty of everypony. With an upfront attitude that rivals Rainbow Dash herself, strong dark chocolate mingles with fiery chili to produce a rainbow of flavors calmed by a colorful topping of cream cheese frosting.

So, a key component in these was chili. Big problem is, I can’t eat pepper of any kind in more than minute amounts without a weird not-allergy-but-not-just-intolerance reaction, so how was I to test these cupcakes? It’s a shame, because I love pepper, but there was no way around it. I couldn’t think of a flavor more bold and up-front to fit Dash, but I couldn’t eat it.

Enter my tester, and guest baker.

Guinea pig... I mean assistant baker!

Wave hi!

Sorry I don’t have more descriptions, I couldn’t taste more than the pre-chili batter (which is amazing), and just the tiniest amounts of post-chili batter (chili-y). The colors worked, which was fun, and I halved the recipe in the write-up because I got 5 dozen. I didn’t think it’d be so big. Recipe is adapted from http://www.nibbledish.com/people/barkcreative/recipes/dark-chocolate-chili-cupcakes with minor tweaks to make it better (to my tastes… even though I can’t taste it).

Cupcake:

6 tablespoons room temperature butter

1 ¾ cup sugar

2 cups flour

¾ cup dark unsweetend cocoa powder

½ tablespoon cinnamon

3 teaspoons ground cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon ground chili pepper (more to taste)

¾ teaspoon baking powder

¾ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

¾ cups buttermilk

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

7 ounces melted dark chocolate

Cream butter. Add sugar gradually and cream together. Mix dry and wet ingredients in separate bowls, reserving the melted chocolate. Add ingredients in installments, starting with the wet. Halfway through and just after a wet addition, drizzle the melted chocolate in. Add more or less pepper to taste. Bake at 325: minis for 10-15 minutes, large cupcakes for 20-25 minutes.

cupcake

Delicious, fiery insides.

Frosting:

4 ounces cream cheese

1 tablespoon butter

4 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Sky blue food color

Cream together room temperature cream cheese and butter. Slowly add powdered sugar. When incorporated, add vanilla and food color. Add milk or cream in small amounts (1 tablespoon or less) until desired consistency is reached. Double or triple for appropriate amount.

Assembly:

Rainbow gel food colors

Food paint brushes

Assemble pastry bag with largest star tip. Fold over top several inches and paint red, orange, yellow, green and purple stripes along the sides, with large gaps between. Fill bag with sky blue frosting via a second pastry bag with a narrow tip. Rinse and dry bag between refills and re-paint.

Rainbow

They should look like this. Easy, right?

Enjoy! I hope they’re as good as they look, and sorry for the short and extra-late post. It’s super late here, and also it’s harder to sing the praises of a cupcake that will kill me if I eat it. Everyone else loved them, though, and they sure are pretty!

Last cupcake tomorrow!

