How could I make pony cupcakes without making a cupcake dedicated to everyone’s favorite baby dragon, Spike?

Dragons?

The cups are because dragons like gold, right?

Fiery green cinnamon cupcake with sparkling purple honey frosting.

Cinnamon as spicy as a dragon’s fire topped with sweet honey meringue could only be inspired by the sweetest baby dragon of all, Spike. A green cupcake is accented by the toasted purple frosting, and sparkling purple powder provides the shine of a dragon’s scales and his prized gems. Just don’t get greedy, if you take too many cupcakes you may turn into a monster!

At first, we were going to have Spike be chili. The more I thought about it, though, the more it didn’t really seem to fit. Chili is more bold and in your face, where Spike is a lot more gentle than that. I suddenly remembered that cinnamon can be fiery (so can ginger, but in the end I settled on cinnamon). I couldn’t think of a proper frosting, though, and a friend and I argued our way through several flavors until he suggested honey, a wonderful complement to cinnamon and a food that I’m absolutely addicted to (I’m ashamed that I had to use clover honey for this, I’d recommend pepper honey if you can get it). I’ve used meringue and buttercream equally this week, but I decided on meringue. Buttercream would probably be too sweet with the honey and then several pounds of sugar.

Recipe time!

Large

See the sparklies? Yeah, they're back.

Cupcakes:

¾ cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 ¾ cup flour

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ tablespoons ground cinnamon

3/4 cup milk

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/8 or ½ teaspoon cinnamon oil

Green food color

Cream butter and sugar together. Add cinnamon oil. Mix dry ingredients (including cinnamon) in one bowl, and wet in another. Add in installments, starting with wet. Add green food color until desired pastel green is reached. Bake at 375 degrees for 9 minutes for mini cupcakes, and 18 for large.

Green, like a dragon!

Frosting:

1 cup honey

1/3 cup water

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon cream of tartar

2 egg whites

Purple or blue and red food color

Mis honey, water, salt and cream of tartar in a saucepan. Heat until just boiling. Remove from heat and begin to beat egg whites while slowly drizzling honey syrup into the bowl, trying to avoid cold metal edges if possible. Beat until stiff peaks form and add dye to the desired shade (liquid is better in this instance).

Mini ones are cute, but I'm now out of mini papers.

Assembly:

Food paint brush

Purple pearl powder

Set broiler to high. While it heats, pipe frosting onto cupcakes using a wide, five-point star tip. Going slowly will ensure better points in the meringue. When frosted, broil until the tops just brown (this will dry out the outside and prevent it from slowly melting off the cupcake overnight). Remove from broiler. Dip paintbrush in pearl powder and gently blow onto cupcakes until it reaches a desired level of shine.

For details on how to apply the pearl powder, see Twilight’s post. As for why I apply it after the broiling, I feel the dryer surface allows more of the sparkle and pigment to shine, rather than letting the water half-absorb it. Also, the pigment helps to color over the brown of the broiling, making the frosting look extra purple rather than brown and purple. The broiling probably isn’t necessary, but my Applejacks melted over night and every day since, so I’ve decided that meringue is broiled from now on, unless they’re for use that day (and it’d be easy enough to make the cupcakes one day, and then mix up the frosting and decorate them the day of an event and skip the broiling, if you’re making these for a thing).

Last of the cupcakes!

So, over this week I have made far more cupcakes than I ever intended to. They were all delicious, I learned a lot, and I found some flavors and/or combinations that I’d never seen before. I sort of never want to see one again (till next week, at least), but some of them are so delicious (hot cinnamon is one of those flavors I couldn’t find) that I can’t help but eat more.

Fun fact: I used to love the old My Little Ponies. When the new one started, I was really hesitant. Luckily, I have some great friends that forced me into it. As soon as I saw Spike, I had a mini fangasm. He was from the old series! As was Applejack, and the first chord of the theme song, and several other of the mane cast were obviously based on old ponies. This hooked me even more the charm of the show could work it’s magic (get it? Magic! ~Is probably the only one left who likes silly puns~).

I already have a sewing post in mind for a day or two from now, assuming I remember. I’m moving, so getting new posts up may be hard. After this, though, I think there may be the occasional cooking or baking post, too.

Thanks for reading and going through Ponycake Week with me!

